We Can’t Hear the Mime adopts a rating system!!

Over the past few months of watching films, reading and writing these reviews I have realised that my blog lacks a certain something. Namely, a snappy, pithy rating system. I am now here to introduce my new snappy, pithy rating system which will be applied to all future reviews and (very shortly) appear on the entire back-catalogue.

A large part of my reasoning for introducing this now is that during the next two weeks I will be seeing ~30 films at the London Film Festival. I want to be able to share my opinions on all of these films as quickly as possible. I will eventually review everything I saw, but during the festival itself I will not be able to review every film I see on the day. However, I will be able to give you all a sentence and a rating, so I guess that’s something for you all to look forward to.

I wanted something a little more in depth than 5 star. After all, what is a star worth? Seems to me that every film trailer shows a review with at least 4 stars. That has to be some sort of star-inflation. My rating will be in three categories for each film: Entertainment Value, Artistic Value, and Intellectual Value.

To demonstrate this, About Time would score:

  • Entertainment: 4/5
  • Artistic: 1/5
  • Intellectual: 1/5

Whereas Les Enfants du Paradis would score:

  • Entertainment: 4/5
  • Artistic: 5/5
  • Intellectual: 3/5

You get the general idea.

One thought on “We Can’t Hear the Mime adopts a rating system!!

Leave a Reply

